h1

The Avatar Hiatus

June 3, 2008

I think Nickelodeon has made so much money in the past, it’s keen on not making money anymore. Yes, friends, while there is a substantially large fanbase for Avatar: The Last Airbender we haven’t seen any new episodes on Nickelodeon since November 2007.

I really don’t understand why executives seem to fear the fans. Aren’t the fans the ones that keep the show alive (see Jericho–at least briefly see it)? No, Avatar is in no fear of getting canceled. Maybe Nickelodeon believes since this is the last season they’d rather not see revenue from commercials played while airing it?

Book 3At least we have the latest DVD and we know the next is due out in July. And a release date for the box set, or Book 3 more appropriately (that’s September 16, 2008), makes me a little more happy. I guess I’m just trying to understand the Nick exec’s point of view. Maybe I never will *sigh*

In the meantime, since Nick doesn’t seem keen on airing Avatar anytime soon, keep checking a nifty little site I came across for most of your animation (though more heavily anime) needs formerly known as Pisoga.com: Anime4Fans

As of today, there aren’t any new episodes posted, but they air elsewhere in the world on Fridays I believe, so probably check every Saturday if you’re hungering for more. There’s another site, something like avatarchapters.net that posts as well. Let’s hope some other network cares about making money so we can see new eps before the end of July.

Leave a comment